Skip to content Skip to footer site map

Navigate Up
Sign In
Treasury For...
AboutExpand About
Resource CenterExpand Resource Center
ServicesExpand Services
InitiativesExpand Initiatives
CareersExpand Careers
Connect with Us


Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) was established to regulate the National Banking System by an act of Congress on February 25, 1863.  The Office has maintained its bureau status throughout its history

.Hugh McCulloch
Hugh McCulloch � successful banker, first
Comptroller of the Currency and twice Secretary
of the Treasury. (Treasury Collection)

As the administrator of nationally chartered banks, the OCC oversees the execution of laws relating to national banks and promulgates rules and regulations governing the operations of approximately 2,150 national banks.  The Comptroller also supervises a nation-wide staff of approximately 1,900 bank examiners.  Charters, mergers, and establishment of branches of national banks require approval of the Comptroller of the Currency.


Last Updated: March 9, 2007


Last Updated: 11/13/2010 8:19 PM
Untitled 1

E-Mail Signup

Sign Up to Receive News src= Sign up to Receive News