United States Mint


The United States Mint was created by Congress on April 2, 1792.  President George Washington placed the Mint under the supervision of the Department of State.  The Mint was made an independent agency in 1799, and under the Coinage Act of 1873 became a bureau of the Treasury Department.  The bureau was named the United States Mint in 1984.

The Mint manufactures and ships all U.S. coins for circulation to the Federal Reserve Banks and branches, which issue coins to the public and the business community through depository institutions.  The Mint safeguards the Treasury Department�s stored gold and silver and other monetary assets.  The Mint also produces and sells gold, silver and platinum numismatic and commemorative coins and national medals through the American Eagle Bullion Program.

Treasury Vault
From Harper�s Weekly, 1893, �Inside a Treasury
Vault in Washington. Taking the Bags of Silver
out to be Weighed.�

Mint headquarters is located in Washington, D.C.  Mint production facilities are located in Philadelphia, Denver, San Francisco, and West Point.  In addition, the Mint is responsible for the U.S. Bullion Depository in Fort Knox, Kentucky.  The Fort Knox Bullion Depository is the storage facility for the nation�s gold bullion.

Last Updated: 10/3/2010 9:19 AM