Skip to content Skip to footer site map

Sign In
Office of the Inspector General


Eric M. Thorson

Eric Thorson was nominated to be Inspector General of the Department of the Treasury by President George W. Bush on November 15, 2007 and confirmed by the Senate on August 1, 2008. He was sworn into office on August 12, 2008. As Inspector General, Thorson oversees independent oversight of Treasury keeping the Secretary and Congress informed through independent audits, investigations and reviews to help the Department accomplish its mission; improve its programs and operations; promote economy, efficiency and effectiveness; and prevent and detect fraud and abuse.
Before joining the Treasury, Thorson worked at the Small Business Administration where he served as Inspector General. Prior to this, he served the Office of Personnel Management as Senior Advisor to the Director for Investigative Operations and Agency Planning.
Earlier in his career, he served as Special Assistant to the Senate Republican Leader, Chief Investigator for the Senate Finance Committee and Chief Investigator for the Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations.
He has also served in the Department of the Air Force as Acting Assistant Secretary and twice as Deputy Assistant Secretary.
Thorson is a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy. He has served as an Air Force pilot and is a recipient of the Distinguished Flying Cross.
Last Updated: 4/30/2012 7:52 AM
OIG Hotline: Click Here
For information about whistleblowing and reprisal and about your rights and responsibilities as a Treasury employee or contractor, please contact the OIG Whistleblower Ombudsman Program at


The Council of Inspectors General on Financial Oversight was established by the Dodd–Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Pub.L. 111-203). Council members share information about their ongoing work, with a focus on concerns that may apply to the broader financial sector and ways to improve financial oversight. The Council is made of nine financial regulatory agency Inspectors General and is chaired by Eric Thorson, Inspector General, U.S. Department of Treasury.