DATE:  June 14, 2016
SUBJECT:    Formal Appointment of Treasury Officials
1.   PURPOSE.  To provide for the documentation of the appointment of certain officials of the Department.
2.  The following Treasury officials shall be formally appointed by the Secretary:
a. The Chief of Staff;
b. The Fiscal Assistant Secretary;
c. The Executive Secretary;
d. The Deputy General Counsel;
e. All Deputy Assistant Secretaries and equivalent Departmental Offices officials;
i. All Bureau Heads and Deputy Bureau Heads (other than those appointed by the President);
j. The Director and Deputy Director of the Office of Foreign Assets Control; and
k. The Director and Deputy Director of the Community Development Financial Institution Fund.
3.  Formal appointment by the Secretary shall occur after all applicable personnel management procedures have been completed, and shall not alter or supersede those procedures. 
4.  Formal appointment under this Order shall be documented through issuance of a commission signed by the Secretary.  As appropriate, the Secretary may formally appoint officials in addition to those listed in this Order, and may issue commissions to such officials. 
31 USC 301 and 321(b).
6.   OFFICE OF PRIMARY INTEREST.  Office of the Chief of Staff.
Jacob J. Lew
Secretary of the Treasury
Last Updated: 3/27/2020 3:00 PM