Skip to content Skip to footer site map

Sign In

Resource Center

International Monetary Fund

The Treasury Department leads the U.S. Government's engagement in the International Monetary Fund (IMF). The IMF is an organization of 188 member countries that works to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. The Secretary of the Treasury serves as the U.S. Governor to the IMF, and the U.S. Executive Director of the IMF is one of 24 directors who exercise voting rights over the strategic direction of the institution. The U.S. is the largest shareholder in the Fund. Meg Lundsager is currently the U.S. Executive Director.

U.S. Votes on IMF Country Programs

Following are links to the U.S. vote records since 2004. They show the program country, amount, type of program, and the U.S. position on the program.

Reports to Congress on IMF Activities

As requested, the Treasury Department provides Congress with reports on IMF activities and related issues. Following are links to reports on various topics.

Article IV Consultation
Last Updated: 10/27/2017 3:48 PM

Contact Us

Department of the Treasury
1500 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20220

General Information: (202) 622-2000
Fax: (202) 622-6415
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:00am - 5:00pm

Untitled 1
Untitled 1

E-Mail Signup

Sign Up to Receive News src= Sign up to Receive News